Skip to content

Learning at St Justin's

St Justin's Catholic Primary School, Oran Park is registered by the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) and is subject to its curriculum requirements.

NESA sets and monitors quality teaching, learning, assessment and school standards. It is also responsible for developing Kindergarten to Year 12 syllabuses for NSW schools.

The NSW curriculum includes the Key Learning Areas (KLAs) of:

In English, students develop knowledge, skills and understandings about English language and literature and the ability to talk, listen, read, view and write with purpose, effect and confidence. They develop knowledge of the ways in which language varies according to context and a sound grasp of language structures, spelling and grammar.

The three broad strands of English are:

  • Talking & Listening
  • Reading, and
  • Writing.

Students also have access to a range of interventions, including MiniLit, MuliLit and MacqLit.

Mathematics involves the development of students’ thinking, understanding, competence and confidence in the application of Mathematics.

There are four broad strands in Mathematics. These include:

  • Working Mathematically,
  • Number and Algebra,
  • Measurement and Geometry, and
  • Statistics and Probability.

How we teach Mathematics at St Justin’s...

Through studying Science and Technology students explore scientific and technological concepts and gain knowledge and understanding of the world. They develop skills in conducting scientific investigations and designing and producing solutions through learning about the Living World, Material World, Physical World, Earth and Space, and Digital Technologies. (NESA)

Human Society and Its Environment (HSIE) is the study of how humans interact with the world, how society operates and how it is changing. Through the study of HSIE, students develop the skills to prepare them to actively and responsibly participate as informed citizens in the contemporary world.

The school’s Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE) program aims to develop in each student the knowledge, skills and attitudes needed to understand, value and lead healthy and fulfilling lives.

The three strands of PDHPE are:

  • Fundamental Movement & Physical Movement,
  • Healthy Choices, and
  • Self & Relationships.

As part of maintaining a healthy and balanced lifestyle our school participates in ‘Munch and Crunch’. This involves eating fresh vegetables and fruit during the morning session to form positive eating habits and aid in sustaining concentration and energy levels in students.

Creative Arts enables students to gain increasing understanding and accomplishment in visual arts, music, drama and dance. Students are able to appreciate the meanings and values that each of the art forms offer personally, culturally and as forms of communication.

All Primary teachers in Catholic Schools are granted two hours per week release from face to face teaching (Professional Planning Time). Our staff uses this time for planning, programming and assessment. Teaching staff take this time on a fortnightly basis. Due to the unique nature of our school and its commitment to contemporary pedagogy, class teachers will also be involved in professional learning and development throughout the year at different times.

While classroom teachers take their PPT, students continue their learning program with specialist teaching staff. In previous years, K-6 students attended Sport, Library, Art and Music (SLAM) lessons each fortnight. The subject selections are reviewed each year in response to school and student needs.

In addition at St Justin's, a course in Religious Education is taught in theory and practice.

Each KLA includes syllabuses that are inclusive of the learning needs of all students.

Syllabuses identify:

  • the knowledge, understanding, skills, values and attitudes students are expected to develop at each stage
  • outcomes and content that describe what students are expected to know and do cross-curriculum priorities, general capabilities and other important learning for all students.

The primary (K-6) curriculum is organised into four Stages of learning:

Early Stage 1


Stage 1

Year 1 and Year 2

Stage 2

Year 3 and Year 4

Stage 3

Year 5 and Year 6

Most students will be working towards the outcomes for their Stage. Some students will be working towards outcomes that are above or below their Stage.

For more information on the NSW curriculum, visit the NESA website.

Did You Know: St Justin's is committed to working in partnership with families and community in welcoming Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students – supporting them to reach their full potential and to embrace their culture and identity. Read more here